5-Hour Course Zoom Rating

#5 in our ranking

Drive Rite Academy NY Zoom 5-Hour Course Review

Drive Rite Academy NY, a Brooklyn school, offers the 5-hour course two ways: a live Zoom class and a self-paced online course. Its Zoom calendar runs from morning to late evening.

9.1/10

A calendar built for odd schedules

The first thing you notice on Drive Rite’s course page is the calendar. In mid-October 2026 it listed Zoom classes from October 17 through November 30, and on most days, weekdays and weekends alike, there were several start times: 10:00 AM to 3:00 PM, 12:00 to 5:00 PM, 3:00 to 8:00 PM and 5:00 to 10:00 PM.

If you work rotating shifts, study at odd hours or look after children on a fixed routine, that spread is the whole point. You are more likely to find a five-hour window that fits than at a school holding two or three classes a week. The calendar changes, so treat these times as a snapshot and check the dates yourself. Live classes are open from age 16.

With this many options, choose by energy and not only by availability. A class that runs from 5:00 to 10:00 PM is a long evening after a full day, so if you tend to run out of steam by seven, a 10:00 AM or noon start may suit you better. Whichever you pick, count five full hours: nothing in the course can be shortened, and the certificate depends on completing the class.

Two courses behind one page

Here is what to understand before you pay. Drive Rite sells a live Zoom class, and it also resells a self-paced online course that it says is run by Online Traffic Safety, a provider on the DMV’s list of online providers. Both cost $50, but they are different products:

  • Zoom class: a live instructor, open from age 16, and a paper MV-278 at the end.
  • Self-paced course: for adults 18 and over with a NY photo learner permit, 30 days to finish, short quizzes (you need 70% to move on) and no paper MV-278, because completion is reported to the DMV. Junior permit holders (DJ and MJ) cannot use it. The page offers a full refund within 24 hours if you have not opened any content.

If you want a paper certificate, or you are under 18, choose the Zoom class. Our comparison of Zoom, classroom and self-paced courses explains the trade-offs.

Getting the MV-278 after a Zoom class

Drive Rite gives you three ways to receive the certificate: regular mail for $5, which takes 1 to 2 weeks; expedited 2- or 3-day delivery for an additional fee; or pickup at 594 Dean Street, Office 1, in Brooklyn. If you lose the original, a duplicate is requested through a web form (the page does not state the fee). To cancel or reschedule, you use your account or call 718-928-7048.

Whichever option you choose, remember that the DMV wants the original MV-278 at the road test and that it is valid for one year. The DMV course page has the details, and our checklist covers what to have ready for class day.

Because standard mail takes 1 to 2 weeks, tell the school if you need the certificate sooner and choose the expedited option or the pickup.

What to ask, and where it ranks

The page does not state the language of the Zoom class. If you want Spanish or another language, ask before you book: the DMV requires a course taught in a language other than English to say so. Ask, too, what the school expects on camera, since many schools set their own rules about that.

Drive Rite is fifth in our ranking, mostly for its range of Zoom start times and a clear $50 price. The four providers above it rank higher on published Spanish classes and a lower price. For a Brooklyn school with a Spanish Sunday class, see Coreway; for another Zoom school with a published camera rule, see Grand Prix.

What we like

  • Zoom sessions on most days, with morning, afternoon and evening starts
  • Live class open from age 16
  • Paper MV-278 by mail (+$5) or pickup in Brooklyn
  • Cancel or reschedule through your account or by phone

Keep in mind

  • Language of instruction is not stated
  • $50 for the live class, and mailing the certificate adds $5
  • The self-paced course comes from another provider and issues no paper MV-278

Our verdict

Drive Rite is the strongest choice outside the top four when your schedule is the obstacle. Its calendar offers a wider spread of start times than most schools we rate, the live class is open from age 16, and the self-paced option serves adults who would rather not commit to a date. Either format costs $50, and the certificate is mailed for $5 or picked up in Brooklyn. The school does not state the language of instruction, so ask before you book if that matters to you.

Best for: Anyone who needs a class on a specific weekday or evening

Frequently asked questions

Is Drive Rite’s Zoom class live?

Yes. The page describes live Zoom classes, open from age 16, that end with a paper MV-278.

What is the difference between the Zoom class and the self-paced course?

The Zoom class has a live instructor, is open from age 16 and gives you a paper MV-278. The self-paced course is for ages 18 and over with a NY photo learner permit, gives you 30 days to finish and has no paper certificate: completion is reported to the DMV.

How do I receive the MV-278?

By mail for $5 (1 to 2 weeks), by expedited 2- or 3-day delivery for an additional fee, or by pickup at 594 Dean Street, Office 1, Brooklyn.

Does Drive Rite teach in Spanish?

The page does not state the language of the class. Ask the school before you book if you need a particular language.